top of page
LDB 2021.jpg

Meet the Team

Artboard 1.png
The Team

Ruth Zakarin
Executive Director

Ruth spent over 20 years working with youth and adults impacted by domestic and sexual violence before becoming the inaugural Executive Director of the Coalition in May of 2019. Ruth has her MSW from the University of Pennsylvania and is also trained as a community organizer. She is particularly interested in creating models of trauma informed advocacy and policy making. Outside of her Coalition work, Ruth is very involved in local interfaith organizing, is an avid knitter and foodie, and is the proud mom of two incredible young adults.


Angelica Fontes
Community Organizing Director

Angelica is a second-generation Cape Verdean American who grew up in Brockton, MA. She developed an interest in civic engagement during early adolescence, and has since been driven by the pursuit of social justice and equity for Black & Brown communities. Her work focuses on centering, supporting and empowering community voices that have been doing the work and living in the realities for decades. Outside of work Angelica can be found listening to music and utilizing creative mediums to express herself.


Emily Popky
Policy Director

Emily first joined the Coalition in 2018 while in grad school as a part-time fellow working on ERPO implementation and awareness. Emily was thrilled to rejoin the Coalition in a full-time role in 2020, bringing her public health background to our work. Emily has an MPH with a focus in public policy from the Boston University School of Public Health, and previously worked as the Legislative Director for a state representative before joining the Coalition in her current role. When not at work, Emily can be found knitting, baking, or reading.

Profile pic 2_edited.jpg

Caitlin Delehanty

Caitlin joined the Coalition in July 2023, and brings 10 years of non-profit experience with a background in gender-based violence and LGBT issues. She has a BA in politics from Mount Holyoke College and a Masters in International Peace Studies from Trinity College, Dublin. In her free time, you can find her hiking, playing her cello, or baking with her very talkative cat. 

Leadership Team

Board of Directors

Artboard 1.png

Board of Directors

President: Mark Scott

Boston Public Health Commission

Vice PresidentCindy Diggs

Massachusetts General Hospital, Peace Boston

Clerk: Donald M. Osgood Sr.

Boston Public Health Commission

Treasurer: Bruce Baron


President Emerita: Janet Goldenberg

Temple Beth Elohim GVP Coalition

Abrigal Forrester

Teen Empowerment

Aminah Pilgrim

UMass Boston

Briana Butterworth

New England Aquarium

Cindy Rowe

Jewish Alliance for Law and Social Action

Edward Notis-McConarty

Episcopal Diocese of MA

Ellie Miller

First Church Boston

Greg Gibson

Survivor Advocate

Jack McDevitt

Northeastern University


Kevan Barton


Mike Gildesgame

Jewish Alliance for Law and Social Action

Molly Malloy

Community Activist

Nichelle Sadler


Rob Stegman

Emerson College

Stephanie Shapiro-Berkson

The University of Illinois at Chicago

Community Council


Chair: Tania Mireles

Tisch College of Civic Life, Tufts University


Tamia Jordan

Emerson College


Ann Haaser

UU Church of Newburyport, Moms Demand Action

Cindy Diggs

Massachusetts General Hospital, Peace Boston, Peace Commissioner

Jarix Santiago

New North Citizens’ Council

Juanita Batchelor

Darrell Lee Jenkins Jr. Resource Center

Lavell Fulks

Boston Public Health Commission

Lawrence Stevenson

Survivor Advocate

Masika Gadson

Violence Intervention Advocacy Program at Boston Medical Center

Nan Garrett-Logan

Grandmothers Against Gun Violence, Falmouth Gun Safety Coalition

Shondell Davis

Roxbury Presbyterian Social Impact Center

Tina Cardoso

Cape Verdean Women United, Boston Medical Center

Toy Burton

DeeDee’s Cry, Light Up Boston Against Violence, Roxbury Unity Parade

bottom of page